10-15-21 Karen Hay – Fairview Park, OH

Our Club Member of the Week this week is- Karen Hay ​ ! Everyone say hi to Karen ​! I hope you will enjoy getting to know her a little better!

​Your Name: Karen Hay

At what age did you start sewing/quilting?  7 years old with my mom, grandma and Oma 

What is your most favorite project you ever made and why? My hometown BOM because it was my first ever fully self-completed quilt.

Who or what inspired you to become a quilter? Sharlene Jorgensen from her 1990s PBS show Quilting from the Heartland. She got me interested in the seamless arc double wedding ring quilt, so I started one in 1997 to be done for my wedding in 2002…which has yet to be finished.

What color do you have a hard time using in your quilts and why? Pinks, because I don’t really like pink

What color seems to always make its way into your quilts? Blues

Do you do other types of sewing besides quilting? I made my own wedding gown, I sew clothing of most types, home décor, kitchen items (potholders etc), basically anything 

Do you have other creative hobbies? Trying loom knitting. I used to cross stitch and plastic canvas, but since bilateral carpal tunnel surgery, those don’t work so well for me

If you won a shopping spree to a quilt store, what is the first thing you would splurge on? Long arm and grace cutie frame

Did you name your sewing machine? Naci (I can backwards)

Favorite sewing gadget? My sewing machine

What treats do you indulge in while working in your sewing room? Wint-o-Green lifesavers 

What’s your oldest UFO? My 22+ year old seamless arc DWR quilt.  I plan on having it pieced by my 20th wedding anniversary

Your best sewing tip: Measure twice, cut once.

What is your favorite technique: Hand embroidery

What type of quilt or block is on your “bucket list” and why? Favorite, Ohio Star because I’m from Ohio. Bucket list, DWR 

Tell us about your family. Hubby (David) two grown sons (Matthew & Justin), one grandson (Pumpkin aka Johnathon), three kittens (Cleo, Niagara, Sabrina)

Where do you live, and what is your favorite thing about where you live? West suburb of Cleveland, Ohio called Fairview Park, Ohio. My favorite thing about it is I grew up here, about 5 miles away on the west side of Cleveland, and it is home.

Favorite vacation spot? Niagara Falls, Canadian side

20) Favorite food? Greek Rotini Salad


9 oz. Rotini noodles

2 tomatoes 

1 cucumber

1 cup green pepper

1 can black olives (sliced)

1 jar kalamata olives (sliced)

1/4 cup green onions 

1 Tbsp. dry parsley 

6 oz feta cheese


1/2 cup canola oil (do not use olive oil)

2 Tbsp lemon juice 

1/2 tsp salt 

1/2 tsp pepper 

1/4 tsp oregano 

1 clove garlic



Cook rotini noodles, and drain with cool water. Combine lemon juice, oil, salt, pepper, oregano, and crushed garlic in a closed jar. Shake well until thick and creamy, then chill. Combine rotini, tomatoes, cucumbers, green peppers, olives, and parsley in large bowl. Just before serving, add dressing and feta cheese. Toss gently and serve.


Favorite television show? Lucifer

If someone made a movie about your life, who would play you? Drew Barrymore, because she’s funny 

Are you a rightie or leftie? Rightie

Anything else you’d like to share: I was diagnosed with relapsing-remitting Multiple Sclerosis on December 13, 1995. I have just recently taken a turn for the worse in the last 3-4 years and am in the process of being “rediagnosed” with secondary-progressive multiple sclerosis.  MS, a new adventure every day! Woo-hoo