7-24-23 – Joëlle Flageole – Ontario, Canada

​Our Club Member of the Week this week is- Joëlle Flageole! Everyone say hi to Joëlle ! I hope you will enjoy getting to know her a little better!

Name: Joëlle Flageole 

Where are you from and where do you live now?: I am Canadian and I live near Ottawa in Ontario. 

What is your favorite project you’ve ever made and why?: My first quilt was a sampler with six blocks. It was great to finish it through the course. I sent it to my mother-in-law in England and she was so excited!! She told everybody she knew, and she stayed up to call and thank me. It was so rewarding!!! 

What color seems to always make its way into your quilts?: Blue 

Do you do other types of sewing besides quilting? : I started a course to make my own leggings and T shirts, and realized I should know more about the serger – once you do a seam with the serger the only way you will be able to wear the item of clothing is when you lose weight! Great thought. So I am registered for a serger course! I made one T and almost one legging! 

Do you have other creative hobbies?: I decided to start hand embroidery. I am fascinated with the projects I see online and everywhere (my garden is very exciting these days!). Also I have arthritis in my hands and I believe the motions of the needle might help that situation! 

What’s your oldest UFO? Any tips on how you keep them from piling up?: 2007! I have a roomful of UFO projects . The 2007 quilt is a top I made at the same time I made one for my Mom. I have it with two other tops awaiting action. I am going to do some fee motion on them once I am ready . 

What’s your favorite food? : Chinese and Italian foods are top of the list. 

What’s your favorite TV Show or Movie?: Star Trek in all its iterations; Shawshank Redemption

Who’s your favorite fabric designer?: Northcott 

Do you have a favorite collection from The Art of Home Club?: Not yet 

Is there anything else you’d like to share??: I am hoping to add embroidered blocks in all future quilts!