Catherine Osborne – Louisville, KY


Our Club Member of the Week this week is- Catherine Osborne ! Everyone say hi to Catherine! I hope you will enjoy getting to know her a little better!

Your Name:  Catherine Osborne

At what age did you start sewing/quilting?  50

What is your most favorite project you ever made and why? My first quilt – because I finished it

Who or what inspired you to become a quilter? Always like the versatility of quilting

What color do you have a hard time using in your quilts and why? Tans and Browns

Do you do other types of sewing besides quilting? (clothing, home décor, etc.) Bags, containers, Pillows – I don’t like making clothing,

Do you have other creative hobbies? (cooking, knitting, painting, gardening….) Ceramics (I had a studio at one time), drawing, doll making (3 took 1st place at the Kentucky State Fair), studying the Bible and reading.

If you won a shopping spree to a quilt store, what is the first thing you would splurge on? Husqvarna Viking or Pfaff Machine embroidery/quilter/sewing machine, lots of fabric and notions, batting.

Did you name your sewing machine? No

Favorite sewing gadget? Walking Foot

What treats do you indulge in while working in your sewing room? Ice Coffee and cracker with cheese

What’s your oldest UFO? A full size hand sewn quilt. Started in 2001 and still waiting to be finished. I only need to finish quilting it together and put on the border. All the appliques are done, blocks sewn together and sandwiched.

Your best sewing tip: Measure twice . . . Cut once

What is your favorite technique (hand embroidery, hand applique, machine applique, etc.) Machine applique

What type of quilt or block is on your “bucket list” and why? The hand sewn project I’ve not completed yet.

Tell us about your family (children, grandchildren, fur babies, etc.) Married to my darling husband for 31 years and have 3 children all grown (had 4 kids but lost one at 27) we have 6 grandchildren. Over the years we’ve had 4 poodles, Buddy, Holly and Peggy Sue were the first 3 and we have only Pepper left and she is 10 years old.

Where do you live, and what is your favorite thing about where you live? I live outside of Louisville, KY. It’s beautiful. I have a gorgeous back yard with lots of birds and woodpeckers.

Favorite vacation spot? Cabo San Lucas. On the east side of the Baha it is breezy. Because it’s breezy your skin stays cool even though you’re getting a tan/burnt. Beautiful villas and that’s where Land’s End is. Also, Northeastern Maine; my folks have a summer place there right on the lake; absolutely beautiful and no internet so the kids have to be kids and make their own fun. Love it!

Favorite food? Corn on the Cob, Beets, Spinach, Steak, Ribs, Cukes, Strawberries, Melon, Watermelon.

Favorite television show? Don’t really have one but if I should choose, I choose – “Downton Abbey” and also “Keeping Up Appearances”

If someone made a movie about your life, who would play you? I have no idea – I am unique (hahahaha NOT!!!)

Are you a righty or leftie? Righty

Anything else you’d like to share: 2 Timothy 3:1-5 shows we’re living a prophecy.