Karen Hay – Fairview Park, OH

Our Member of the Week this week is Karen Hay. Everyone say hi to Karen! I hope you will enjoy getting to know her a little better!

Where are you from and where do you live now?: I’m born & bred in Cleveland, OH, moved to Strawberry Plains, TN for 1.5 years, then Knoxville, TN for another 1.5 years, then back to a west suburb of Cleveland called Fairview Park, OH. I have been here since 1999.

What is your favorite project you’ve ever made and why?: I’m still working on it..since 1997… my double wedding ring quilt. I started it back in ‘97 when I was about to get married to my husband (9/21/02), but kids, life & work got in the way. I have multiple sclerosis and was diagnosed in 1996, so that put a dent in my sewing as well. Well, right before COVID hit, my husband decided he made enough to support both of us & I could quit working because it was a bit taxing on me physically, and I began to sew again! I have all of the “blocks” assembled into rows, I’ve just been intimidated by doing all the pinning to assemble the rows together with my MS & carpal tunnel.

What color seems to always make its way into your quilts?: Blue…any shade of blue!

Do you do other types of sewing besides quilting? : I have made my own wedding gown, mending, clothes making, quilts, ITH embroidery projects, backpacks, purses, wallets, custom chair covers, home decor, sewing machine covers, potholders etc… if it’s sewable, I attempt it!

Do you have other creative hobbies?: I make no sew folded fabric ornaments, machine embroidery, scrapbooking. I’m still learning to knit on a loom, as I cannot hold crochet or knitting needles long enough to do anything without causing pain.

What’s your oldest UFO? Any tips on how you keep them from piling up?: My DWR quilt…it’s sitting in my “The Original Scrapbox” (now Create Room) “The Ultimate Sewing Box” sewing cabinet glaring at me every day I pick up some other project than it! 😆

What’s your favorite creative outlet?: Last Christmas I spent my measly 401(k) on a quilting/sewing/embroidery machine… sew now I’m playing with all of the wonderful pretty things I can make now!

Tell us about your family! : I am married to the most magnificent man, David, We’ve been together since February 9, 1994 and finally married 9/21/02. I have two sons (Matthew 35 and Justin 32) from two previous relationships. Matthew has one biological son, Johnathon 12. Justin doesn’t have an children, but his girlfriend of several years has two.

What’s your favorite food? : Anything Mediterranean

What’s your favorite TV Show or Movie?: The War of the Roses

Who’s your favorite fabric designer?: Loralie Harris of Loralie Designs

Do you have a favorite collection from The Art of Home Club?: So far, I’d say the secret fairy garden… it was the first one I was able to use my embroidery machine to do the edge to edge quilting on.

Is there anything else you’d like to share??: I absolutely love this Club! I may not get to do all of the projects, but I try! I have all the blocks to the Sew Happy quilt pieced, just have to finish the borders, quilt & bind!